In a bid to promote excellence in the fields of science and technology, as also cultural pursuits, the Kamal Kumari National Awards were instituted in 1990 by the Kamal Kumari Foundation. The Award for Culture is given to individuals and groups in India for outstanding contribution to Literature, Education, Fine Arts and Performing Arts. Recipients of the Kamal Kumari National Award for Culture so far have been Sobha Brahma, Sankha Ghosh, Nilmani Phookan, Sisir Kumar Das, Mamoni Roisom Goswami, Amita Malik, Achyut Lahkar, Navakanta Barua, Maharaj Kumari Binodini Devi & Jahnu Barua.
The Award for Science and Technology is given to individuals or groups for outstanding contribution in the fields of Science and Technology. The recipients for the Kamal Kumari National Award for Science and Technology so far have been C. N. R.. Rao, S.P. Thyagarajan, Sarbeswar Bujarbarua, Dilip Kumar Choudhury, T.S.R. Prasada Rao, Lakshmidhar Satpathy, R.A. Mashelkar, Vibha Dhawan, Samir Bhattacharya & Jitendra Nath Goswami.

In 1999 the Foundation instituted the Siva Prasad Barooah National Award for journalism to promote news-media excellence. The first recipient of this Award was the Assam Tribune, the oldest and outstanding English newspaper in the North-East and subsequently Sanjoy Hazarika, Dhirendra Nath Bezboruah, Teesta Setalvad & Prannoy Roy.

Each of the Awards consists of a trophy, a citation and Rs. 1 lakh in cash.